Meet our Members Health team.

The Members Health team is dedicated to assisting our alliance of health funds to provide the best possible health care for all Australians.

The Members Health team is elected annually with nominations drawn from its member funds. Once elected, the board of directors elects a chairman and deputy chairman. Our team is invariably expert, professional, caring and dedicated.

Brad Joyce

Members Health chairman
CEO, Teachers Health
CEO, Nurses & Midwives Health

Brad is responsible for leading the Members Health Board and ensuring the effective implementation of the organisation’s strategy. He draws on extensive senior executive and leadership expertise including more than 15 years’ experience in the health insurance and healthcare industries. Brad is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of CPA Australia and holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Newcastle. He joined the Members Health Board in May 2006 and became chair in November 2013. His oversight first as a director and then as chair has helped to grow Members Health to the point that we now have more registered health insurance fund members than any other private health insurance peak body in Australia. Brad is also a director of the Australian Health Services Alliance Ltd, Hambs Systems Limited, Members Own Health Funds Ltd, Teachers Healthcare Services Pty Ltd, Teachers Health Foundation and a Councillor of the International Federation of Health Plans.

Ron Wilson

Members Health board member
CEO, Navy Health

Ron is CEO of Navy Health and as CEO of hirmaa between 2006 and 2013, has been fundamental to the ongoing success of the not-for-profit, member owned and community based health insurance sector. He was an inaugural director of Members Own Health Funds, and deputy chair since 2016. He is also chair of the Private Health Insurance Industry Code of Conduct. Aside from private health insurance, Ron has been a Victorian State MP, including Shadow Minister for Health, and chief of staff to the State Opposition Leader. He has served on the Victorian Government’s NDIS Implementation Taskforce, been director and treasurer of the International Diabetes Institute, now Baker IDI, and is chairman of the Sir Robert Menzies Lecture Trust.

Sharon Waterhouse

Members Health board member
CEO, Phoenix Health

Sharon has over 20 years’ experience in senior executive and non-executive director roles, including executive posts with Westpac, St George Bank and Newcastle Permanent Building Society. She has been University of Newcastle Services Limited chair, Hunter Business Women’s Network chair and an elected councillor with the City of Newcastle. Sharon’s work has been recognised with awards including FINSIA Williamson Scholarship, Australian MIS Innovation Award, and Money Magazine Best Innovative Service Gold Winner. She has spoken at several national and international conferences. Sharon holds a Bachelor of Economics, MBA, Masters of Business Research and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia. Sharon is also an elected Director of Members Own Health Funds and a Committee Member of the Private Health Insurance Code of Conduct Committee and Committee Member of Beyond Bank Australia Local Bank Council.

Rob Seljak

Members Health board member
CEO, Teachers Union Health

Rob has held various senior executive positions in NSW and Queensland over the past 20 years, including general manager, Insurance for WorkCover NSW and general manager, Workplace Health and Safety Queensland. He has served to promote the interests of the not-for-profit sector as chair of the Code Compliance Committee for seven years, director of AHSA and chair of Hambs (since 2016).  He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and holds degrees in arts, law and business.

Melinda Williams

Members Health board member
CEO, Peoplecare
CEO, Reserve Bank Health Society

Melinda is CEO of Peoplecare and CEO of the Reserve Bank Health Society and National Health Benefits Australia. She has two decades of experience in private health insurance and in health service delivery. She has a Bachelor of Nursing, a Masters of Public Health and a PhD in population health management, and is a Graduate (with merit) of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Her clinical background provides an in-depth understanding of the drivers of the health system. Melinda is a Director of the Cram Foundation and plays a key role in the Illawarra and Southern Practice Research Network Strategic Working Group.

Andrew Smith

Members Health board member
CEO, CBHS Health

Andrew Smith is Group CEO and executive director of member firm, CBHS Health. He has held many CEO and senior executive posts over more than 20 years in consumer-centric industries, including retail, funeral services and FMCG. Andrew holds a Bachelor of Commerce, an MBA and is a chartered accountant. He is a Fellow of the AICD and is currently audit committee chair for Private Healthcare Australia. Andrew is an advisory board member of AFEA Pty Limited, a provider of compassionate, experienced and qualified staff specialising in home care services.

Peter Aroney

Members Health board member
CEO, Doctors' Health

Peter is the CEO of Doctors’ Health Fund, a position he has held since 2008. Doctors’ Health Fund was originally established by the AMA and is now part of Avant Mutual Group Ltd; a doctor-owned organisation. Peter sits on the Avant Group Executive. He also serves as a Director of HAMBS Systems Ltd.  Peter is a Chartered Accountant by training and worked with KPMG before moving into the general insurance industry, where he held senior positions with international responsibilities.

Matthew Koce

Members Health CEO

Matthew has been CEO of Members Health since March 2014 over which time the association has grown to 25 health funds covering more than 2 million lives. Matthew is a member of the Private Health Ministerial Council and has sat on a range of other government committees and groups. These have included the Federal Health Minister’s Industry Working Group on Private Health Insurance Prostheses Reform.